The winner of the 2011 Livestock Producer of the Year Award is Tom Gubbins.

Sponsored by Elders, the Livestock Producer of the Year Award is part of the Australian Farmer of the Year Awards, hosted by Kondinin Group and ABC Rural, where Tom accepted his award at a gala dinner in Sydney on Wednesday, September 7.

Te Mania Angus, owned and run by the Gubbins family, holds, or has held, every Angus on property and show sale record — highlighted by its $91,000 bull Te Mania Emperor sold during March this year.

Its dominance of the Angus Group Breedplan EBVs is unparalleled, with twice as many trait leaders as the next nearest stud.

The Gubbins family has also made a major commitment to renovating and extending wetlands and the ecosystem on its western Victorian property where the breeding herd is run.

A pioneer of objective measurement and the use of both AI and ET in accelerating the genetic profile of the breed, Te Mania Angus also imported one of the great foundation sires in the early days of the Angus breed’s explosion to its current position as the country’s leading British Breed animal.

Director Tom Gubbins has continued the work that started with his grandfather in New Zealand, establishing a gene pool with more than 80 years of breeding excellence.

Te Mania Angus is also recognised as a breed innovator, with its recent switch to big-screen on-property bull sales its latest step forward.

Elders segment manager Livestock, Wool, Dairy, Yasmiin Phillips, said the high standard of finalists and the diverse nature of livestock industries covered made the selection of this year’s winner a very difficult task.

“The Gubbins family Te Mania Angus operation was deemed to have covered all selection criteria and shown over an extended period of time a very robust business model as well as continued breed development and industry involvement which has benefited the wider livestock community,” Ms Phillips said.

“This by no means detracts from the standard of the other finalist’s entries that are all deserving of recognition in this prestigious award.”

The national Australian Farmer of the Year Awards, hosted by Kondinin Group and ABC Rural, are designed to promote a positive image of farmers, inspire and encourage career choices and investment interest in Australian agriculture.

Media Contacts:
Verity Todd
M: 0429 993 027

Amber Atkinson
M: 0405 448 582